East of England
Director of the Year Awards

IoD awards

Headline Sponsor

Barclays logo

And the 2016 winners were...

The results were announced at a celebratory lunch at the Jockey Club in Newmarket on the 19th May 2016.

The overall winner for the Region was Oliver Lincoln of Vestguard UK.

Commenting on the results, David Sales, Chairman of the IoD in the East of England said:

“It is a huge pleasure to announce the results for the Awards for 2016. The people named above represent some of the most exceptional directors that we have in the region. Each is providing exceptional role-modelling of innovation, determination, customer focus and in building a fantastic workplace culture.”

The IoD is extremely grateful to Barclays for being an enthusiastic and supportive sponsor of our Awards in 2016. Jane Galvin, Managing Director, Eastern Region Corporate and Business Banking at Barclays, commented:

“Recognising the achievements of business leaders across the East of England continues to be really important. It is great to see so many local leaders investing for the future, creating wealth and employment, investing in new technologies and exploring new markets for exports. Barclays are delighted to sponsor the IoD East of England Director of the Year Awards 2016 and would like to congratulate the winners on their success.”

Mark Abraham

£100m+ Business Director

Mark Abraham, Wilson James

Frederick Furber

Young Director

Frederick Furber, F&M Cosmetics

David Gill

CSR Director

David Gill, St John’s Innovation Centre

Sean Kent

Public & Third Sector Director

Sean Kent, Freebridge Community Housing

Oliver Lincoln

International Director

Oliver Lincoln, VestGuard UK

Michael Swinhoe

£10m - £99m Business Director

Michael Swinhoe, Z-Tech Control Systems

Andy Wood

Family Business Director

Andy Wood, Adnams

Claire Woodman

Up to £10m Business Director

Claire Woodman, Poppy Nursing and Care Services

2016 judging panel

Howard Ingleson - Chair Norfolk Branch

Howard Ingleson
Chair of IoD Norfolk

Graham Kill - Chair Suffolk Branch

Graham Kill
Chair of IoD Suffolk

Taus Nöhrlind - Chair Cambridgeshire Branch

Taus Nöhrlind
Chair of IoD Cambridgeshire

Matthew Peek - Barclays Bank

Matthew Peek
Barclays Bank

Tim Price - Chair Essex Branch

Tim Price
Chair of IoD Essex

David Sales - Chair of IoD East of England

David Sales
Chair of IoD East of England

Edwin Wittingham - Chair Hertfordshire Branch

Edwin Wittingham
Chair of IoD Hertfordshire

Previous Winners